After the last update of Adobe Flash player we are experiencing some technical difficulties. The Score Sample and Audio Sample features may not work as expected if you're using Firefox as your browser. We are working on fixing the problem and regret any difficulties you may experience.

Irish Fantasy (Duplicate)

SAXpress » Store » Saxophone Quartet » Irish Fantasy (Duplicate)

Title:Irish Fantasy (Duplicate)
 from the 2nd String Quartet
Composer:Hennessey, Swann
Arranger:R. Stevens
Ensemble:Sax Quartet SATB
Format:Score (8pp) and parts
Length (appx):5.5 minutes (2 movements)

Price: from $9.95

Loading Updating cart...

Irish Fantasy

Swann Hennessy (1866-1929)

SATB Saxophone Quartet

The Irish Fantasy is taken from Swann Hennessey's Second String Quartet. It is based on the 2 final movements of that work and includes many well known Irish tunes including “Coming Thro’ the Rye” and “Charlie, He’s My Darling”. If you enjoyed playing Eliot del Borgo's Irish Suite, you might like Hennessey's Irish Fantasy.

Hennessy was a concert pianist and composer of Irish descent born in Rockford Illinois. He studied in Stuttgart, settled in France and died in Paris in 1929. He published many chamber works – most with a strong Celtic or Irish flavor.

This transcription is for SATB Saxophone Quartet. No altissimo is required of any player but the full range of the saxophone is used. The range for each part is shown below. Three thirty-second audio samples are available above. Registered users can download a complete score and a full length audio sample.

Irish Fantasy by Hennessey for SATB Saxophone Quartet

Leave a Comment